Miracle Mile Renters Threatened with Eviction

Miracle Mile Renters Threatened

with Eviction

500 Rent-Stabilized Apartments Excluded

from the Miracle Mile HPOZ 

On December 8, 2016, the City Planning Commission endorsed the Miracle Mile Historic Preservation Overlay Zone (HPOZ) and recommend its approval at its next stop, the City Council’s Planning and Land Use Management Committee.

But, at the last minute, the Planning Commission rewrote the HPOZ boundaries – as approved by the City’s Cultural Heritage Commission [see map] – and excluded properties fronting on Olympic Boulevard, properties north of 8th Street, as well as properties on the west side of Orange Grove Avenue south of 8th Street.

hpoz-original-boundary

The Planning Committee ­– appointees of Mayor Garcetti and cheerleaders for the Mayor’s densification policy ­– chopped out these areas so that they could be super-sized with new luxury market-rate developments. This jeopardizes nearly 500 rent stabilized apartments in dozens of historic multifamily buildings and undermines the historic preservation of the Miracle Mile. HPOZ protection would prevent these buildings from being demolished and would permanently preserve rent stabilized units.

These rent stabilized units are the only affordable, middle class, and work force housing in the Miracle Mile. Excluding 500 rent stabilized units from our HPOZ threatens hundreds of renters with eviction and dozens of historic multifamily buildings with demolition.

Renters in these excluded areas must fight to preserve their apartments and the history of our neighborhood. Contact Councilmember David Ryu and City Hall and demand that these areas be included in the Miracle Mile HPOZ. And please attend the City Council’s Planning and Land Use Committee meeting on February 14, 2017 (contact HPOZ@MiracleMileLA.com for more information or if you need transportation to the PLUM meeting).

Click here to print and distribute a petition demanding that these excluded areas be reinstated into the Miracle Mile HPOZ.

Send your email messages to:

(In your email refer to Council File # 15-0183-S1)

David Ryu: david.ryu@lacity.org (or call him at 213-473-7004)

and 

Herb Wesson: councilmember.wesson@lacity.org (or call him at 213-473-7010)

and also copy:

PLUM Committee Secretary Sharon Dickinson: sharon.dickinson@lacity.org

You can also contact PLUM Committee Members:

Gilbert Cedillo: councilmember.cedillo@lacity.org

Marqueece Harris-Dawson: councilmember.harris-dawson@lacity.org

Curran Price: councilmember.price@lacity.org

Jose Huizar: councilmember.huizar@lacity.org

Mitchell Englander: councilmember.englander@lacity.org

For more information contact:

HPOZ@MiracleMileLA.com

Thank you!

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.